To view the PDF version please click on the icon below.

Media Release

Finalists announced for 2011 Australian Commercial Radio Awards

The finalists in the 23rd annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) were announced today and for the first time, the Metropolitan Best On-Air Team Award will be presented in two categories - metro AM and metro FM.
Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said: “We’ve had an unprecedented number of entries in the On-Air Team category this year and to take into account the differing broadcast styles and content provided by AM and FM broadcasters in metropolitan markets there will be a Best On-Air Team Metropolitan award in both AM and FM.”
Finalists in the Best On-Air Team Metropolitan FM category are; The Kyle and Jackie O Show (2Day FM Sydney), Jonesy and Amanda (WSFM, Sydney), Fitzy and Wippa (Nova, Sydney), the Hamish and Andy Show (Today Network), and the Matt and Jo Show (Fox FM Melbourne). Hamish and Andy have won the Best On-Air Award for the past three years and Kyle and Jackie O have won twice before.
The Metropolitan AM finalists are 3AW Breakfast (3AW, Melbourne), 2GB Continuous Call Team, (2GB Sydney), George & Paul (2UE Sydney) and 3AW Nightline/Remember When (3AW Melbourne). 
Nova drive-time presenters, Fitzy and Wippa are also finalists the Best Networked Program (metropolitan) category along with The Hamish and Andy Show (Southern Cross Austereo) and the Ray Hadley Morning Show (Macquarie Radio Network).
Four-times Award winner last year, Ray Hadley (2GB Sydney) is also a finalist in this year’s Best Talk Presenter and Best Current Affairs Presenter categories. Other finalists in Best Talk Presenter (metropolitan) are Steve Vizard (MTR Melbourne), Derryn Hinch (3AW Melbourne) and Neil Mitchell (3AW Melbourne). Ray, Neil and Derryn are also all finalists in the Best Current Affairs Presenter (metropolitan) as is Paul Murray (2UE Sydney).
Best Newcomer On-Air (metropolitan) will be contested between Martin King (MTR Melbourne), Ben Fordham (2GB Sydney), Sophie Monk (2Day FM) and Jules Lund (Fox FM Melbourne).
Finalists in the digital radio category, Best New Digital Radio Format, include Koffee (DMG), Novanation (DMG), Radar Radio (Southern Cross Austereo) and U2O Radio (Southern Cross Austereo).
A record number of more than 1100 entrieswere received for this year’s ACRAs from metropolitan, regional and country radio stations across Australia. The winners will be announced at a gala event at Jupiters on the Gold Coast on October 15. Renowned, US Emmy Award winning actor, Kelsey Grammer will be special guest at this year’s Awards.
Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said; “The ACRAs are the highlight of the year for the radio industry and we look forward to the event on the Gold Coast this year. It is a great opportunity to recognise the depth of talent within the industry right across Australia.”
Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards include 33 categories, which cover all areas of radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs differ from television’s Logie Awards, in that they are peer judged with judging panels comprised of industry members. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.
This year for the first time, a two week international fellowship will be awarded to the Brian White Award winner. Brian White was a legendary radio journalist and this award recognizes excellence in radio reporting.

For more information, please contact Melissa Fleming (Media Manager) at melissa.fleming@commercialradio.com.au or 02 9281 6577.


Sign up for our email newsletters

Get all the latest industry news, views, comments and opinions on the issues that matter to you.

Security code