To view the PDF version please click on the icon below.


Entries open for 33rd annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards in Sydney

15 March 2022
Entries for the 33rd Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) are open, with organisers Commercial Radio Australia announcing the event will be held live this year on Saturday October 29 at the International Convention Centre, Darling Harbour, Sydney.  
“It’s great to get the radio industry night of the year back in the calendar as a live event,” said Joan Warner, chief executive officer of CRA.
“In spite of the challenges in 2021, more Australians than ever are listening to radio due to the hard work and creativity of radio teams throughout the country. I’ve no doubt that we will see some outstanding entries this year.” 
The Awards will be handed out in 39 categories, covering all areas of radio broadcasting, including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment.
ACRA entries are received from 260 metropolitan and regional commercial radio stations across Australia, with judging undertaken by industry and specialist panels. Winners will be announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations.
Last year's winners included the ever popular The Kyle & Jackie O Show who won Best On-Air Team (Metro FM). The KIIS 1065 breakfast duo, who have been on-air together for 21 years, notched up an impressive record seventh win in the category cementing their place as the king and queen of radio. 
Ben Fordham won Best Talk Presenter, his sixth win in the category but first since moving into the breakfast slot, having previously won for his work in drive.
Ross Stevenson and Russel Howcroft from 3AW Breakfast were named Best On-Air Team in the Metro AM category and The Best Newcomer On-Air award was taken out by comedian Joel Creasey, who joined Kate Ritchie and Tim Blackwell on NOVA Entertainment’s Kate, Tim & Joel drive show.
Ms Warner said a highlight of the ACRAs is the Hall of Fame which acknowledges a lifelong commitment to Australian radio. Previous inductees have included; Doug John Mulray, Lee Simon, WSFM Breakfast co-host Amanda Keller and 2GB’s Ray Hadley, Cathy O’Connor, Jeremy Cordeaux, Kevin Blyton, Graham Mott, Tony Pilkington, Derryn Hinch, Neil Mitchell, Greg Smith, Frank Hyde, Bob Francis, Gary O'Callaghan, John Laws, Bob Scott, Brian White, amongst others. Hall of Fame recipients are nominated by industry colleagues and decided by an industry wide senior executive panel. A full list of recipients can be found here.
Entries for this year’s awards are open and will close on May 13, 2022.  Information on how to enter can be found at the website www.acras.com.au.
Media contact:
Michele Camilleri – 0466 364 178 / michele.camilleri@commercialradio.com.au
About Commercial Radio Australia
Commercial Radio Australia is the peak industry body representing the interests of commercial radio broadcasters throughout Australia. CRA manages industry codes and standards, regulatory and legislative matters, metropolitan and regional audience measurement surveys, revenue reporting, industry innovation including the automated trading platform RadioMatrix, RadioApp, the Australian Podcast Ranker, consumer research, marketing and industry training and development programs. CRA also hosts the Australian Commercial Radio Awards and the Siren Creative Awards.
Follow us: Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Instagram
More info:  commercialradio.com.au   |   www.sirenawards.com.au   |   radioalive.com.au   |   digitalradioplus.com.au


Sign up for our email newsletters

Get all the latest industry news, views, comments and opinions on the issues that matter to you.

Security code